Weaving coaching + bodywork

How does a craniosacral bodyworker interested in end of life issues, or grief issues combine this with coaching in a way that it can easily be presented to others? How do I maintain full respect for my own resources and needs, balancing them with the emotional and financial needs of the individual and family?

This blog is my place for bringing my query to life, day by day, or at least entry by entry.

What am I really up to with this?
What resources are out there?
What are some of the stories I’m hearing as people around me begin to talk about their experiences as loved ones die?

This blog will hold
what I’m doing
what I’m hearing
what I’m thinking
and how all that transmutes to what “my offering is”.

Craniosacral work is a lifestyle more than something I do during the hours I’m being paid. It’s a mindset. It’s a committment to a certain type of self-exploration and constant “clearing” to be open to the fine souls who show up ready to do their work with my assistance.

Maybe this site is a place for me to put resources, or then maybe those things will go elsewhere.

Wait and see.
Or make a request.

So, on to the topic of linking the two.
Great idea.
Have I ever done it? Sure. Nice results. But for that sense of being solidly grounded and masterful … there’s more to do. Yep.

I see now a need to create a very clear intention that’s evident to my clients right from the get-go that I have standards, and a clear but flexible structure, around how these services may interplay. Now I say little and people get confused, not always at a time I can bring immediate clarity. People who have worked with me send referrals who don’t know why they’re coming except their friend said they should. And they trust their friend, who knows me.

I’m disinclined to talk “too much” (this is the point I’m working on — how much is enough and how much is too much). They don’t know why they’re there. I won’t “tell”, I ask. They don’t want to talk, nor do they want to ask questions. End of story.

Or, as with the story below, the fine fellow told me he wanted to come to talk only. In the session it seemed like a bodywork issue may be the best use of our time. He agreed. I’ve not seen him since. What happened here? At some point (after I’m done being as spacious as I can) I’ll call him up and find out.

Story in point: A month ago a lovely fellow came to my studio to talk about a life issue and an insomnia problem he described really caught my attention. I offered bodywork, which he accepted. We arranged that if he wished to stay and rest after the session he was welcome to do so, although I’d need to leave, and I’d speak with him at the time to double check with him.
So it happened. A couple hours later I called him to check in. He was fine. I asked him to be spacious with himself for a few days and see what happened, and that I’d be happy to hear, even if the answer was “nothing”. He didn’t call me. I don’t call clients, as part of my “spaciousness.”

Anyway, this relationship seems to have been over before it was begun and I wonder how he is with that. I’m “breaking” most of the expectations in a chinese society. I’m a business that doesn’t look like a business. I’m incredibly personal. I don’t ask for money for the first session.

So, at this point, my question is:
What do I need to say, what is the least possible which covers all that’s needed, to ground people in what’s an unusual occupation here in Taiwan?
And so it goes.

0 Responses to “Weaving coaching + bodywork”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

