Funny things people think. 18 is the only number.

‘I was heartbroken. I thought 18 was the only number.’

Aren’t we all like this, somewhat?

Joseph Heller was going to write Catch-18, but before it’s publication there was another book with an 18, and he had to change his number.

Paul reads Language Log most days, along with the Telegraph. There are over 9,000 visits a day! I just learned that my biggest day was almost 200. I can’t imagine what people could possibly have been reading. I’d sortof like to know. Even if it was a mistake, I’d like to know. And if people like something here, hey, I’d like to know that, too.

Apparently the article “A classic by any name” is from the Telegraph. Nov. 18 (there’s that number!)

A great article on how enormously important titles can, potentially, be. —

0 Responses to “Funny things people think. 18 is the only number.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

